The features that define Kabondo Kasipul and which have a bearing on the development of the Constituency. It provides a description of the Constituency in terms of the location, size, physiographic and natural conditions, demographic profiles as well as the administrative and political units.

Location and Size of the Constituency

Kabondo Kasipul lies within longitudes 34.85 North, 0.44 degrees East and latitudes 0° 20’ South and 0° 50’ South. It is bordered by seven (7) constituencies namely; Sigowet/Soin to the East, North Mugirango and West Mugirango to the South East, Kitutu Chache North to the South, Kasipul to the West,  Karachuonyo to North West, and Nyakach to the North. The Constituency covers a total area of 249.80 km2.

Political and Administrative Units

Kabondo Kasipul Constituency is the electoral constituency number 246 of the Republic of Kenya. It is one of the eight (8) sub-counties that make up Homa Bay County. Kabondo Kasipul is made up of four wards which form the political representation units, namely:  Kokwanyo-Kakelo, Kojwach, Kabondo East, and Kabondo West. The constituency is administratively in Rachuonyo East Sub-County that is made up of two Divisions of Kabondo and East Kasipul. It consist of 11 locations and 23 sub-locations as summarized in Table.






Kabondo East Kabondo Kawuor Kodhoch East,  Kowidi, Miriu, 35,301  
Kabondo East Kabondo Wang’chieng, Kakang’utu East, Rongo-Pala    
Kabondo East Kabondo Atela Kodumo East    
Kabondo West Kabondo Kasewe Kasewe A, Kasewe B, 34,470  
Kabondo West Kabondo Ramba Kakang’utu West, Kodumo West, Kilusi    
Kabondo West Kabondo Kodhoch Upper Kodhoch, Lower Kodhoch,    
Kabondo West Kabondo Ramula Kakumu,    




East Kasipul Kokwanyo Kokwanyo East and Kokwanyo West 29,877  




East Kasipul Kakelo Kakelo Dudi, Kakelo Kamroth,    
Kojwach East Kasipul Kojwach Kamiyoro, Kamuga, Kawere 21,263
Kojwach East Kasipul Kojwach East No sub-location  

The understanding of the political and administrative structure of the constituency is important in providing  equal distribution of development resources including the political and administrative Map of Kabondo Kasipul.(Figure 2).



Figure 1: Percentage representation of the population 


Figure 2: Political and Administrative Map of Kabondo Kasipul

Source: Delimitation of boundaries for constituencies and wards report, Vol, 2, 2012


 Physical, Topographic and Ecological Features

The constituency is divided into two main relief regions namely the lowlands towards the Lake Victoria basin and the highlands bordering Kisii and Nyamira Counties. The constituency lies between 1,160 -1,220 m above sea level.  It is characterized by hills including; Gangre, Nyabondo, Olak, Ongoro, Dudi, Kimori, Adega, Rateng, Oogo, Kimondi, Okombo, Komala and Atela.  It has a number of rivers which originate mainly from Kisii and Nyamira highlands namely; Miriu, Nyamwaga, Awach Pala, Awach Othoro, Anyona, Awach Kadongo, Opilu, Awach Ogera and Orue. Kabondo Kasipul has 2 waterfalls namely; Odino and Atemo Falls.

The main Wetlands in the constituency include; Nyamwaga, Luanda, Pundo Lando and Tala. The constituency has the following gazetted forests; Kasewe, Kamondi, Kawuor and Anuoyo in Kakang’utu west. It also has dams which include; Kokise in Kodhoch, Kagero in Ramula, and Anuoyo in Kakang’utu west. The constituency also has a man-made lake called Odino-Nyandolo. It is characterized by a range of mineral-rich soils, predominantly of red-clay to loamy types thus making it suitable for variety of agricultural activities.